Does losing weight make you happy?

April 13, 2009 at 10:03 pm 2 comments

 

I know that when we are trying to lose weight this is the last thing we ask ourselves. We just want to get to a certain number or wear a certain item of clothing. But for those of you have read “My Journey” you might begin to question the actual purpose why you want to lose weight. I think that we in America need to adopt a new mindset behind weight loss. I think that we have made huge strides, but it seems as though a number on the scale or a size is still the motivation behind most people’s weight loss. 

I guess since I have lost weight and pretty much kept it off people come up to me and ask me how to do it themselves. I hear everything from ” I have to stop eating carbs right?” or ” I need to just stop eating all together!” to fit that bathing suit by May or so that I can get a girlfriend. I’m not an expert, but uhhh NO. You need carbs and you should eat  cause your body needs the fuel to function.

Weight loss is not easy, trust me I know but keeping it off is even harder and if your not in it for the right reasons it’s even harder. But when your goal is to be healthy and to be able to walk up, and to be able to walk up and down the stairs, or to simply have fun with your family than you will be alot more successful and actually happy. Trust me the feelings we call happiness when we lose weight subside but when you are I guess what we all call healthy (emotionally, physically, and spiritually) than you will find what I call happiness. So in my opinion losing weight did not make me happy, but trying to live a healthy life has.

         here's a happy pig by only alice.

How do you all feel?

STAY HAPPY!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Easter Finding Balance

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly Turner  |  April 14, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I used to think that hitting my goal weight (which was entirely unhealthy and way too low) would make me happy, but once i did, and I still wasnt happy, and I still wanted to lose more weight, i started to realize i had a problem, and then no matter what number i set, when i hit it it wouldnt be enough. thats when i realized i wouldnt ever be able to stop on my own.

    Reply
    • 2. Almost Healthy Chris  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:05 pm

      Thats exactly what happened to me. I began to challenege myself to lose 1 more lb and then 2. Until I realized it was shear torture.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


